Dvořák – Slavonic Dance No. 8 Op. 46

Slavonic Dance No. 8 Op. 46 (1878)

Antonín Dvořák   (1841-1904)

Following the success of Brahms’s Hungarian Dances written for two pianos, Brahms suggested to Dvořák that he write some similar pieces. These became the first suite of Slavonic dances, later arranged by Dvořák for orchestra.  Although employing characteristic Czech rhythms, Dvořák used his own melodies to evoke his deep feeling for Bohemian life. The famous 8th is a lively furiant, featuring offbeats and a contrasting 2/4 – 3/4 rhythm.

Performed: 17/8/2014, 24/8/2014

Comments are closed.