The Maroondah Symphony Orchestra is a community orchestra founded in 1964 and based in Ringwood, a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Conducted by Willem van der Vis, we present four programs of classical music each year, usually at the George Wood Performing Arts Centre, in Ringwood.

New players are welcome, particularly violins, violas and double basses. We also have a vacancy for a bassoon.  Players of other instruments are welcome to go on our waiting list. Please see the new players page for details.

The issues with ticketing that occurred at our June concert have now been resolved and ticketing for the September concert went smoothly, with only a short queue for tickets on the day.

Reserved seating is available online until 8 pm on the night prior to the concert. Online bookings after this time are General Admission only. Tickets are also available at the door, but booking online is simple, allows you to select your seat and avoids the need to queue.

Sunday 24 November 2019, 2:30 pm

Piano Fireworks

After the sun rises with Carl Nielsen’s evocative Helios overture, talented young pianist Meng Xia will dazzle us with Liszt’s second piano concerto. Full of drama and alternately wistful and exciting, this will be followed by Litolff’s famous Scherzo, a favourite of virtuoso pianists and audiences alike. The concert concludes with Dvořák’s bucolic and tuneful 8th symphony.

Soloist:  Meng Xia, Piano

Meng began playing the piano at the age of six and currently studies at the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School with maestro Glenn Riddle.  Meng enjoys playing chamber music with his peers at VCASS and singing in the choir.  He has also won numerous awards including the Ann and Chris Krans Music Award, the Margaret Green Scholarship at ‘Eisteddfod by the Bay’ as well as the Reg and Lil Lewis Romantic Era Award.

Meng has been gaining experience by performing and in competitions. He most recently competed overseas in Kuala Lumpur. Meng intends to continue his music studies at university and aspires to become a concert pianist.

Conductor : Willem van der Vis

Nielsen Helios Overture Op. 17
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2 in A
Litolff Scherzo for piano and orchestra from Concerto Symphonique No. 4 Op. 102
Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G  Op. 88

George Wood Performing Arts Centre, Yarra Valley Grammar, 84-90 Kalinda Rd, Ringwood

Adult $25, Concession $20, (plus $1 booking fee); Children under 16 free

Bookings: Not yet available

Download flyer: Not yet available

Download program: Not yet available